Reviews

Click below for our full Viator/Tripadvisor Reviews:

Reviewed by Michael C on August 2018:
We had a fantastic time! Gerry was an excellent guide – great food, great tour around Chinatown and learnt lots about Singapore! Gerry also went over and above helping us to locate something we needed! Thanks again Gerry!

Reviewed by PrudenceAnn on July 2018:
Gerry met us at our hotel and walked with us to one of the Hawker centres. He ordered lots of delicious food was very easy to get along with. He was also very informative so we felt comfortable getting around Singapore the next day.
We had a lovely time wandering around various areas in Chinatown after our appetites gave out, and Gerry provided us with histories of each area and how it fitted into the culture of Singapore. When jetlag caught up with us, he provided transport back to our hotel.
We had a terrific evening.

Reviewed by Libby K on June 2018:
This tour was fantastic. Wish we had done it earlier in our stay. Great to try so many different foods and drinks. And to find your way around China Town. We were able to go back the next day by ourselves and know our way around. We had so much food to try, very generous serves. We were a group of 6 and couldn’t eat all the beautiful food. We even had to say no to dessert!! Gerry was so knowledgeable and good fun, as was his wife Jo. If you are only going to do 1 tour in Singapore, make it this one. Thanks Gerry!

Reviewed by Sally Harrison on March 2018:
A great experience with Gerald providing some great local info on Singapore as a whole – on the food side he took us to Little India on our request as we had visited Chinatown ourselves the day before and we visited some great eating places and tasted some fantastic food with the locals which I am sure we wouldn’t have done on our own. A great experience that we would thoroughly recommend – also great to be just us and G…… really made our trip to Singapore!

Reviewed by Bob1521 on March 2018:
This was one of the best tours I have ever taken anywhere in the world. Gerry was on time, was extremely enthusiastic, had much knowledge of the history and culture related to the food Hawkers in Singapore and was really fun to be with. We had a wonderful time checking out many dishes in two of the Hawker centers and washed it down with much Chinese and Singapore beer. The food was fabulous and I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this tour. Excellent, excellent, excellent!

Reviewed by L Dioso on March 2017:
First-time and infrequent visitors to Singapore should make this tour a high priority. Our guide, Gerry, treated us like friends from out of town to whom he wanted to show off his favorite hangouts. He gave us a choice of three areas of the city to tour. We chose Kampong Glam, hoping to sample unfamiliar flavors in Singapore’s Muslim quarter. We got all we wanted and more as Gerry guided us along visually compelling streetscapes to three diverse stops. First, we went to Zam Zam, a 100 year old family restaurant, where we savored mutton murtabak and other dishes. Next, we enjoyed finger foods at a mom ‘n’ pop cafe on Baghdad Street. The last stop was Albert Centre hawker centre, where we shared Tiger beers and fried munchies. All the while, Gerry answered our questions and offered interesting details on life in Singapore.
I’m going to look for tours like this one whenever I visit the world’s great cities. Hopefully, I’ll find operations as friendly and helpful as Singapore Foodsters. Regardless, when I return to Singapore, I hope to tour another part of town with Gerry.

Reviewed by Kenneth S on March 2017:
This tour was a true 5 star experience and a highlight of our time in Singapore. Gerry is the perfect guide. This is not his only job. He does this out of passion for the street food in Singapore and because he enjoys meeting people. If he’s having a lot of fun it’s a guarantee that you will also.
We arranged with him to walk the Malay section, the Joo Chait Road and Katong. We were taken to places we would never have found on our own and tried local specialties that we never heard of and wouldn’t have understood. Among them were Putu Piring, Fried Carrot Cake, a double noodle dish and Laksa. If you’re a foodie like me, do this tour. You’ll love it.

Reviewed by Liz V on February 2017:
100 custom, private, flexible–a must do! A private guide through the city sharing knowledge of food and culture what more could you want? Traveling 53 days, Singapore was a favorite because of this tour. Jerry met us at our hotel, ask our dietary restrictionswhich he worked around, and our preferred areas-we picked to Arab St., Haji Ln., and Chinatownduring Chinese New Year preparations-wow!. Transportation was very comfortable. We set the pace-we could stop and shop whenever we wanted. At our last stop, Hawkers Stalls, his wife and baby joined us. They are a lovely family and this personal interaction really gave us an insight to life in Singapore. We loved this tour so much I am sending my son there for his honeymoon. Oh and the food was great!

Reviewed by Karina M on February 2017:
The tour felt more like a chat with a new friend. Gerry tailored the tour to suit us and we left contented with full stomachs.

Reviewed by Patricia T on January 2017:
This was great and even better than expected. We were the only two guests and Gerry and Jo took us to some great places. Gerry asked us what we would like to do and then organised the evening around that. We went to Arab street and had some food that we had never had before and in a place we would not have gone to alone. We then went to Little India and had the same experience. We had more than enough to eat and drink and certainly didn’t need another meal that night. Gerry and Jo were great companions and told us so much about their lives apart from the food. Highly recommended if you want to see authentic Singapore. Many thanks!

Reviewed by Clive R on January 2017:
Gerry was wonderful taking the time to know us and what we wanted out of our tour, I would highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting to know about the food and the culture of this wonderful place.

Reviewed by Stuss on January 2017:
Wow, what an amazing tour! I love trying new food that I wouldn’t normally order because I love being surprised at how yummy some dishes are. Walking through the street of Singapore at night was wonderful and meeting people from all over the world is great! I highly recommend this tour!

Reviewed by John B on January 2017:
Excellent tour with Gerry. Great local knowledge and wonderful introduction to foods of the neighbourhood. Extensive sampling of drinks and food. Highly recommended!

Reviewed by J35leo on January 2017:
Wish I could give this more than five stars! Gerry and Jo were wonderful hosts and so interesting we were both sorry when it was over. We are hoping to go back in 2018 so will be booking again, this time with a view to visiting Little India.

Reviewed by Nigel C on December 2016:
Gerry was very personable.He took us to areas we would not have visited on our own.Had excellent Chinese meal and gave us a good insight into living in Singapore.Would thoroughly recommend him.

Reviewed by KathyKing823 on November 2016:
We did the tour with Gerry and Jo and had a wonderful time. The food was wonderful and plenty of it. Gerry and Jo were so easy to get along with and extremely informative. We enjoyed their company and would recommend this tour.

Reviewed by Tahlia Stuhmcke on November 2016:
My husband and I had never visited Singapore before and decided we wanted to get a taste of the place from a local point of view. Gerry’s tour of Little India was amazing! We took it a few local hot spots as well as a hawker centre. The Indian festival of lights ‘Deepavali’ forgive my terrible spelling was just around the corner so Little India really came alive with lots of markets, street decorations etc. The temple was also a great experience! Gerry was extremely knowledgable and we learnt so much. He was also exceptionally attentive and generous with his time. We tasted dishes and drinks we would never have tried before which is EXACTLY the experience we were after. To anyone who wants a tour that will show you a ‘real’ side of Singapore, we cannot recommend Gerry’s tour enough!

Reviewed by Katherine Hall on October 2016:
We had such an awesome time! Gerry and Jo provided us with a fun evening and lots of amazing food! Highly recommend this food tour.

Reviewed by Angela De Souza on October 2016:
Had a fabulous time on one of our many food tours taken through different countries. This one was brilliant. Had some proper local food in the food markets, eating locally, with some delicious flavours and variety. We also got to see a few local bits like an amazing temple and a little history of Singapore. We saw the Michelin starred hawker stall, which was closed when we went – but we knew where to go back to! Which was a horrendous queue which we passed on!. Lovely knowledgable company, was just me and my friend. Highly recommend this to get a real feel for the place, with local cuisine and also to know where to go for the good food when you are on your own. We did this at the start of our time in Singapore and feel this is the right time to do it. Lovely. Thank you.

Reviewed by Florence M on October 2016:
We had a great time. Picked up here by Jerry who was absolutely fabulous. We then went to Chinatown and walked around the shops and bought more trinkets. Them met his wife Jo who joined us and we went to the Hawker food centre and the food was absolutely fantastic. Jo and Jerry were very entertaining and would highly recommend them. They were the best. We then walked around and did a little more shopping the taken back to our hotel. Great time was had by all.

Reviewed by Angela D on September 2016:
My sister and I thoroughly enjoyed our walking food tour. Gerry was very promptly in our lobby to begin our tour of Little India. The tour, information, food and Gerry’s company was absolutely fantastic. Highly recommend. Thanks Gerry, and thanks for the pics you send.
Yes hope to see you somewhere again!

Reviewed by Ritchie W on July 2016:
We enjoyed learning about the different foods that the locals eat in Singapore. We would highly recommend Gerry, the guide. His English was very good, he was friendly, warm and courteous.

Reviewed by Jo L on July 2016:
Gerry was awesome. My husband and I had the best time. The food was fantastic, and Gerry is the best tour guide ever. It was just the two of us, and we were very well looked after. Gerry gave us a great experience, lots of insider information on living in Singapore, picked some fantastic foods out for us, and generally made it the highlight of our trip! Thank you so much!

Reviewed by Benjamin S on May 2016:
This was a great afternoon. Gerry took the time to confirm our meeting details before the day via text, and was at the hotel early to greet us. We enjoyed the walk around Chinatown and of course the various types of food that Gerry provided for us. And on top of that, once he figured out we were beer drinkers he made sure we had plenty of that as well. Gerry was a great source of information about Chinatown and Singapore in general, and we enjoyed the conversation. Great tour – give it a go!

Reviewed by Jennifer M on April 2016:
Gerry is a wonderful guide. We explored & tasted Singapore like locals. His English is excellent and he made the experience really fun. All of the food was unique & delicious. We toured Chinatown, temples & markets. Thank you for guiding us and sharing a very special day!

Reviewed by Tracey H on March 2016:
My husband and I went on this tour in February 2016 on our first visit to Singapore. What we didn’t realise was that this was a private tour so it was just us and Gerry our tour guide which was great! It was so personal it felt like we were meeting a friend. It was great to walk around with a local, trying different local dishes and having our questions about Singapore answered. Gerry was very friendly and knowledgeable. We got to try many different dishes and in the end had to say we can’t possibly eat anymore! Gerry paid for everything…transport to and from our hotel and all meals and drinks. The food was delicious and we got to try things we normally wouldn’t have even known about! This tour is great if you’re into trying local street food and getting off the tourist track. You won’t get fine dining, what you will get is a great local food experience! Thanks Gerry!

Reviewed by Cheryl P on 14 February 2016:
We had a great time with Gerry! He picked us up at our hotel and we then spent a very enjoyable 3 hrs with him. We visited the China town Hawker market no other tourists in sight there!, did a walk about and then headed to the Maxwell Hawker Centre. We tried a variety of foods and Gerry gave us some background on the area and Singapore in general. We were very pleased with this tour and can highly recommend it! Thank you Gerry and Singapore Foodsters!

Reviewed by Robert S on 29 January 2016:
I was ill and unable to attend the tour, 3 others in our party did join Gerry and had a great time. Our party returned to Singapore cruise ship about a week after our original tour and Gerry ended up being a huge help to us in coordinating a logistical issue we’d run into. Gerry went well above and beyond. In short Gerry is one of those guides that we hope to be able to return the favor to some day. We hope when he visits our home town we’ll have an opportunity help him learn about the local flavors!

Reviewed by Mrs MB O on 17 January 2016:
Jerry was a great guide and gave us lots of information about Singapore as well as introducing us to some great food.

Reviewed by jemr72 on 03 December 2015:
We were privileged to have a tour with Gerry who has a wealth of knowledge of this beautiful country. Gerry took us through the wet markets, Sri Mariamman temple, hawkers market where we sampled many of the local dishes famous to Singapore. The food was in abundance and absolutely delicious. As walked through Chinatown we learnt about the history and culture. We found this a very informative tour and definitely worth doing. Thanks Gerry.